The gluten-free diet has become all the rage in recent years, but many people don’t know what gluten actually is. What foods contain gluten? How does gluten affect your body? Should you go gluten-free?
In this video, Jade from Wellness Today lays out all the facts about this much maligned protein. Learn why gluten sensitivities have become more widespread, the difference between celiac disease and gluten sensitivity, and why gluten causes digestive upset for so many people. Watch below!
Though bread, pasta, and baked goods are the most common offenders, gluten can sneak its way into marinades, salad dressing, sauces, and canned food.
Grains that contain gluten:
- Wheat Germ
- Wheat Bran
*There is no gluten in the oats themselves, but most commercial oats are produced in factories where they are contaminated by the gluten from other grains.
Foods to Watch Out For:
- Canned foods
- Flour Tortillas
- Fried foods
- Imitation meats
- Salad dressing
- Seasoned snack foods
- Sour cream
- Soy Sauce
Be sure to always read labels carefully, and if you’re eating gluten-free, watch out for the following ingredients:
- Barley Malt/Flakes/Extract/Flour/Vinegar
- Brewer’s Yeast
- Brown Rice Syrup
- Malt & Malt Vinegar
- Gelatinized Food Starch
- Hydrolyzed Plant Starch (HPP)
- Hydrolyzed Vegetable Starch (HVP)
- Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
- Hydrolyzed Food Starch
- Texturized Vegetable Protein (TVP)
- Malt Vinegar/Flavoring/Syrup/Extract
- Modified Food Starch
- Modified Wheat Starch
- “Natural Flavors”
- Wheat Protein/Starch
When in doubt, choose unprocessed foods and cook for yourself whenever possible!
Do you avoid gluten? Let us know why or why not in the comments section below!